Kevin Laibson is a producer, director, educator, improviser, and grump. From 2014-2016, he was the artistic director of The Peoples Improv Theater (The PIT) in Gramercy in Manhattan. In 2010, he co-founded Magic Futurebox, a performance and development space for experimental theater in a factory in Sunset Park, which closed so the landlords could make it a food court or some shit. From 2010-2012, he was the theater curator for The Tank. He developed the improv program for the New York Film Academy Musical Theater wing, and was on faculty in the filmmaking, acting, and musical theater departments there for 8 years. Other teaching includes TVI studios, NYU Tisch, the Boys and Girls Club of America. Directing highlights: Eliza Bent's Toilet Fire (Abrons Arts Center, JACK, The Brick), Tommy Smith’s Demon Dreams (Oni No Yume) with a new score by DJ Spooky (NY Premiere, 3 NYIT Award Nominations, 1 win), Alan Schmuckler’s I Miss the City (Joe’s Pub), Dance School: School for Dance (#serials at the Flea), Katharine Clark Gray’s The Pestilence is Coming – A Superfun New Musical About How You Will Probably Die! (Magic Futurebox, based on the album by The Minor Leagues), City Hall Sketch Comedy (2010, 2010, 2011 INNY Noms., Best Sketch Group), Next to Normal (Steel River Playhouse, PA), Skyscraper National Park (narrative comedic improv on and about rooftops), rebecca AND ron (2011 INNY nom., Best Twoprov). Producing highlights: Much Ado About Nothing (Public Theater – Mobile Shakespeare Unit), Sometimes in Prague (Ice Factory), The Throwbacks (NYMF), SEEWATCHLOOK (High Line, Canal Brasil Documentary), Public Domain Project (The Tank). For seven-ish years until about 2006, he was the frontman and bass player for Easily Amused (mPress Records, Philadelphia), and followed that with a stint as managing editor for Origivation Magazine (now ThatMag), a local music publication in the greater Philadelphia area. Kevin is a graduate of the New Actors Workshop, where he studied improvisation, acting, and directing under Mike Nichols, George Morrison, and Paul Sills.